Random Thoughts on a Friday Night

Just some random thoughts on a Friday evening while I wait for a giant storm to attack… (Which sounds like a monster movie, now that I think about it.)

Well, the storm’s not hitting until tomorrow, but still… I’m wondering how big it’s going to be. They’re talking blizzard conditions, snow falling at 3″ per hour. That’s when you get the soup pot going. Chicken with veggies and rotini. Yum-o-rama. The nice thing about soup is that it’s easy to make and it gets better the longer you have it. It’s one of those “better the second day” foods.

~*~*~*~

Why is my blog cooperage? Mainly because I think it’s a cool word–a cooperage was a place where they made barrels and the guys who made them were called coopers. Which means somewhere in my husband’s family tree there is a barrel maker…

~*~*~*~

What am I reading? Two things: Anne Stuart’s The Devil’s Waltz, and From Jesus to Christianity : How Four Generations of Visionaries & Storytellers Created the New Testament and Christian Faith by L. Michael White. Both are excellent. Publishers Weekly dissed the White book as offering nothing new about early Christianity, but, for me, it’s clearly written and I am gaining something new. Which just goes to show that reviews are entirely subjective. A reviewer comes at a book with a set of expectations–how can he or she not? And if those aren’t met…well,you can tell.

It’s not easy reviewing, mind you. Imagine trying to read a book you hate reading. It’s torture, bitter, bitter torment. (Can you tell I’ve done this?)

~*~*~*~

The best thing in the whole wide world? Opening a book, hoping it’ll be decent and entertaining, nothing more, and realizing, within a page or two, that it’s absolutely fabulous and the author has a backlist. It doesn’t get any better than that.

~*~*~*~

Another awesome thing: a stash of comfort reads, books you turn to when you’re all worn down and you just need a break from life, books that reliably take you out of yourself and your situation. Jenny Crusie’s The Cinderella Deal was a book like that for me for the longest time–it’s less so now, mainly because I’ve memorized it. Which is the downside of truly beloved comfort reads. On the other hand, there isn’t anything she’s written that I wouldn’t turn to in a pinch…and have, as a matter of fact.

~*~*~*~

Only another month until Loretta Chase’s Lord Perfect is out. Reading her Lord of Scoundrels was one of those, “This is wonderful…and she has more!” events. That booked gripped me, truly gripped me; I felt like it had my brain in a claw and I couldn’t put it down.

~*~*~*~

And that’s all for a not-yet-snowy Friday night.

Leave a Reply

