Lazy Day

I had today off. You’d think with a day off I’d get buckets and buckets of stuff done. Hmmm. Not so much. Well, I went to the gym and I went food shopping and I did e-mail (and there’s genuinely stuff to be done on the e-mail front)…but I also sort of vegged in front of the TV, flipping between reruns of Law & Order that I’d already seen, and reruns of Animal Precinct that I’d already seen.

I’m telling myself I needed a day like today, where I was a giant turnip most of the day. I’ve had a lot going on lately, which I’ve completely loved, but still…

The weird thing about being so busy is that it’s apparently making my creativity go mad. I have a mostly unwritten and seriously underdeveloped idea for a historical romance that’s like the old guy in Monty Python and the Holy Grail: Every now and again, it lifts up its head and says, “I’m not dead yet.” Lately, scenes have been popping into my head. Well, not whole scenes, just pieces, but the kinds of pieces you can write up to and past (which will then give you a whole scene.)

I’ve been writing down what’s coming to me, all of it, just any old way, so I don’t lose the idea. That’s the key thing, not losing the idea. When the Girls in the Basement start throwing that many ideas up the basement stairs, it’s your job to catch ’em and put ’em somewhere safe. (If you don’t know who the Girls are, read Stephen King’s On Writing. He has Boys in his Basement; I have Girls.)

The Girls are also directing me to read things. Right now, I’m reading Prayer: A History by Philip Zaleski and Carol Zaleski. It’s pretty much what it says it is, a history of prayer and besides being beautifully written, it’s given me insight into a character in the fantasy that had been baffling me. Now I know what happens in the scene where she’s introduced–which is huge–and I’m getting a feel for her internal life, which is even bigger. If you don’t know what your characters’ internal lives are like, you don’t know your characters. (Or at least I don’t.)

And now it’s nearly bedtime, and I feel like I’ve accomplished nothing, but really I have managed to get a few things done. So today wasn’t a waste.

Leave a Reply

