Where was I?

Yep, I disappeared.

Fell into a rabbit hole.

Well, actually, I got sick and slept for 17 hours. Which I never do. I think I mentioned that before, the not-sleeping-a-lot, never-napping thing. I don’t really consider sleeping for 17 hours napping, myself. I mostly consider it A Sign That Something’s Up.

As in my body’s called out all the troops and shut down all non-essential systems, like consciousness.

I’d like to say I feel a lot better since then. I do, mostly. I think I’d feel better if I’d gone to the gym, but I haven’t. Part of it’s been the flooding, part of it’s been the sleeping, and part of it’s because of a book, a non-fiction book: They Marched Into Sunlight: War and Peace, Vietnam and America, October 1967 by David Maraniss. I stayed up way too late last night finishing it.

The thing is, I pretty much knew what happened; I’d seen an episode of Frontline, Two Days in October, that covered the same events. One day in October, American soldiers were ambushed and famous soldiers were killed; the next day, in Madison, WI, anti-war protests turned violent for the first time. Despite knowing the outlines, I wanted to know the specifics. And the book is very well-written–I highly recommend it.

So that’s where I’ve been, sleeping, reading and not working out. I have a couple of things I’m supposed to read (and what I think of the Dreaded Shoulds is a subject for another day), I have a pile of library books I wanted to read…but instead I think I’m going to dig out my copy of Stanley Karnow’s Vietnam. I think I’m ready for it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cherry Red
    May 19, 2006 @ 01:26:00

    I’m so proud that you’re Blogging again. I fell off the blogging wagon, but I’m back on tonight.

    So glad to hear that the floods didn’t get ya. Was worried about you every time I saw the news.

    Kim:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

