The Wall

Okay, so there’s a not-so-bright side to the productivity. First, my little fingers aren’t used to so much typing, so they’re sore. (Which feels funky, but there you go.)

Second, the well runs dry. I didn’t realize it could when you were just noodling, but I found out today. I was working on a main character biography, trying to tell the whole story from his point of view, when I just slammed into a wall. I could not for the life of me figure anything out. Invention completely gave out, collapsing on the side of the road, jelly-legged.

So tonight I’m going to rest. I’m not going to think about my story at all. I’m going to read and putter and just relax. I’m hoping the Girls in the Basement* will work on what I can’t figure out on my own, so that when I come back to this, the answers will be there.

*For more information on the Girls in the Basement, see Stephen King’s On Writing. His are Boys. Mine are Girls.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cherry Red
    Jul 15, 2006 @ 22:03:00

    Awww, hugs on the sore fingers. And hugs on the wall. But you’ve accomplished somuch in such a short time with this method, there’s nothing wrong with taking a day (or two) off.

    I started doing the snowflake method too. Ilike it because you build from a swmall thing to a larger thing. I’m on step two (I have the paragraph outlined–I just have to write it) and I’m really looking forward to step 3.

    Thanks for bringing the snowflake method to my attention. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

