Too restless for bed

I’m too restless for bed, though my eyes hurt because I’m tired. I don’t think I’m restless for any particular reason…but I lie to myself on a regular basis, so who knows?

I gave myself the whole weekend off–no scribbling of any kind, whatsoever. Yesterday was my usual jaunt with my sister, running some errands to get ready for RWA National in Atlanta (which begins week after next). It feels like the calm before the storm right now–I have about a million things to do (including packing) but most of them (including the packing) can’t be done quite yet. Maybe I’m restless because I’m afraid I’ll forget stuff.

Maybe I should start a list.

I need lists just to keep track of all the details. I make a list of everything I intend to pack and I make it in advance. I once went on a cruise and forgot to pack shoes, so I do not trust myself to be able to look at the suitcase, think, “Something’s missing. What?” and then successfully figure it out.

It’s pretty likely I’m going to disappear for the next few weeks. First, there’ll be getting ready for National, then I’ll be at National, and then there’s recovery from National. I’m thinking about taking the NEO and keeping a journal, with the idea of (maybe) posting it here when I get back. But I don’t know–I’m so afraid of losing the NEO. (This is why I don’t have fancy jewelry–I don’t want to lose it.)

I’m thinking too much. I need to go to bed.

P.S. If you’re in the Atlanta area, and would like to say “Hi,” I will be signing copies of my second book, Lord Sebastian’s Wife, at the massive booksigning being held as part of the RWA conference. The booksigning is from 5:30 PM to 8:30 PM on Wednesday, July 26 at the Atlanta Marriott Marquis, 265 Peachtree Center Avenue in Atlanta. Many and many are the terrific authors signing there; click here for a complete list of all the authors (as of 6/1/06). Publishers donate the books and all the proceeds from the signing are donated to literacy charities, which I think is exceedingly cool.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lorraine
    Jul 17, 2006 @ 13:39:00

    Shoes? I love it that you forgot shoes, of all things.

    Which reminds me of one of those recurring nightmares I’ve had all my life. Where I arrive at school, only to find I’m barefoot and left my shoes at home, which for some reason feels like a horrible, shameful thing at the elementary school level.

    Reply

  2. Karen
    Jul 17, 2006 @ 22:03:00

    I’ve been mentally packed for weeks. I’m a compulsive planner 😉

    See you in Atlanta!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

