Hard Work

I’m still pretty well worn out from National–I slept 14 hours in the last 24, and I’m still not caught up–so no lengthy screed here, but I wanted to say something while I was thinking about it.

Quite a few people at National thanked me for all my hard work on workshops this past year. I think I wigged a few of them out by saying I didn’t work hard. The thing is, I’m not sure “hard work” means the same thing to me that it does to everyone else.

To me, hard work is anything I don’t want to do, anything I find unrewarding or unpleasant. Chairing the workshop committee wasn’t any of that. It was something I chose to do because I thought it would be one of my favorite things, a combination of big picture and important detail (it was) and because I thought it would be rewarding (it absolutely was).

Did I put a lot of time and effort into chairing the committee? Absolutely. Did it demand a lot from me in terms of time and focus? Definitely. But it wasn’t hard work because I loved doing it.

So that’s the deal: if I love doing it, it’s not hard work. It can be demanding, frustrating, challenging, exhausting…but it won’t be hard.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brooke
    Jul 31, 2006 @ 23:33:00

    Katy, the workshops ran so well. Beautifully! It may not have been hard work for you but I bet it was a lot of work, and it paid off for a full 2200 women. Thank you!

    – Brooke from JCW

    Reply

  2. Cherry Red
    Aug 01, 2006 @ 02:13:00

    What a very Katy-ish thing to say.

    The time and care you put into the workshops made a lot of people happy. Work or not, whatever you choose to call it, you gave of yourself, and that’s a gift.

    ((((hugs))))

    Kim

    Reply

  3. pattieg
    Aug 01, 2006 @ 08:48:00

    Katy,
    I didn’t attend, but everything I’ve heard (and that’s been a lot!) about the conference has been wonderful! Great job!

    pattie
    Pocono-Lehigh Romance Writers
    HHRW
    CLWOW

    Reply

  4. Alison Kent
    Aug 01, 2006 @ 11:12:00

    I had no idea you had a blog, so I will be stopping by regularly. It was so good to see you!

    Reply

  5. Neringafilms
    Aug 01, 2006 @ 14:27:00

    Katy,

    Without your “hard work”, dedication and friendship, my life would just be that much harder… you bring a light to my spirit everytime you smile…

    thanks,
    Neringa

    Reply

  6. Katy Cooper
    Aug 01, 2006 @ 15:45:00

    Thank you all–I really did have a lot of fun doing it. (Though I won’t deny I’m glad it’s over…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

