Alone, Not Lonely

Since my last post, I’ve been quiet because I haven’t really had anything to say. I still don’t have much–if anything–to say, but I don’t want to be silent either. Somehow, silence in a blog seems much more…stark than silence in a conversation.

I can easily and happily bear patches of silence in a conversation. In fact, I can spend hours with the people I love best in the world–my sisters and my beloved–and not say a word. The silence is companionable and easy, and it feels as if we’re having a conversation that doesn’t involve language, as if we’re in the silence together somehow. It’s been like that with my sisters for as long as I can remember, and the first sign that my beloved was the one for me was the night I realized we’d been in the car for nearly an hour without saying anything, and the silence was comfortable. I can remember thinking, “This is just like being alone, only better.” Since being alone was my sanctuary, this was high praise.

And, really, how could it not be? I don’t think there’s any loneliness worse than the loneliness that comes when you’re with the wrong person. Which is just one of the innumerable reasons I’m glad I found the right one (and he found me).

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cherry Red
    Aug 27, 2006 @ 01:20:00

    I couldn’t agree with you more. What a great post. I’m glad you found your beloved too. And I’m glad I found mine. (((Hugs)))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

