It’s a Race!

Well, my adventures on Transit Hold continue.

No, Rumspringa didn’t come in. (We’re going to say it’s been 10 days today and start a countdown.) However, two other books went on Transit Hold today: Gone with the Windsors by Laurie Graham and Dark Angels by Karleen Koen. Which means we now have a race.

Which book will come in first? Rumspringa? Or Gone with the Windsors? I’m not counting Dark Angels since that was on hold only long enough to be received by the main library–it didn’t really travel.

I borrow books from the library when I’m trying a new-to-me author (the library’s great for exploration) or when the book in question is something I’m unlikely to read again. If I’m not going to read it again, then I have to do something with it if I buy it. If I borrow it, not so much. I’ve read both of Karleen Koen’s previous books–Through A Glass Darkly and Now Face to Face–and enjoyed both, but I’ve never re-read either, nor felt any desire to do so. So, library it is.

Gone with the Windsors got a good review that intrigued me (not all good reviews do), so I put it on hold. If I don’t like it, back it goes, no harm, no foul…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lorraine
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 00:06:00

    I rememer reading THROUGH A GLASS DARKLY, and loving it so much at the time, until the end and then being so sad that it wasn’t the ending I wanted.

    I’m intrigued by Dark Angel, though, and have it on reserve at MY library system!

    Reply

  2. Katy Cooper
    Sep 12, 2006 @ 21:19:00

    I think I owe it to anyone reading this saga to report on all the books that come in… So I’ll tell you what I think of DARK ANGELS when I get to it…

    Reply

  3. dee
    Sep 13, 2006 @ 00:53:00

    I read THROUGH A GLASS DARKLY also. I remember picking it solely because of the title. Our church youth group uses ICor 13:11 as our key verse, so all the teens memorized that one and verse 12. That verse just always resonated with me. Then I saw that book, and it floored me to see the title, so I had to read it. Of course, the book had nothing to do with I Corinthians. LOL. Still though, not bad. But, like Lorraine, I remember being not quite satisfied with the ending.
    I’ll have to check out DARK ANGEL if you’re both talking about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

