I Have Yielded

Prompted by Cherry Red, I called the library today to find out if they could help me with Rumspringa. The answer was no. “There’s not really anything we can do.”

So I cancelled the request and reinstated it. I’m 14th in line now, but I have some hope of getting the book, instead of waiting forever and ever and ever.

Sometimes you just have to know when to say, “Never mind.”

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cherry Red
    Sep 14, 2006 @ 17:10:00

    They can’t check the shelf? What kind of a library is it? Grrr… Mistakes happen. We’re human. Checking the shelf only takes a minute. It’s the least they can do.

    I feel bad. Now you’re #14 on the list. I feel like it’s my fault.

    hugs,
    Kim

    Reply

  2. Katy Cooper
    Sep 14, 2006 @ 20:12:00

    First of all, it’s not your fault at all–you just prompted me to do something that had been on my mind anyway.

    Second, what I was hoping for was for the library to tell me which of two possible branches was supposed to be sending the book. Two copies, from two different branches, were “in transit”. I didn’t want to call the wrong branch, which is my problem, not theirs. So, basically, I never gave them the chance to go look on the shelf.

    Which is my bad.

    Reply

  3. dee
    Sep 18, 2006 @ 00:59:00

    Still, it seems very silly that the other books made it to you so much faster. You’re so patient, and so understanding. At that point, I don’t know that I could have been. Librarians are awesome, but sometimes their systems just suck, huh?
    Hope it makes its way to you soon. And after all of this, I hope it’s worth the read!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

