Rumspringa Redux

Just a short note to say that Rumspringa is once more on transit hold, allegedly on its way to me. It’s only been a day, and I’m pretty sure it’s coming from a slowish branch, so I figure it should be in on Friday or Monday.

Abundance, by Sena Jeter Naslund, is also on hold, on its way to me. I’m pretty sure I’ll get that one first, since I think it’s actually in the main branch–I’m guessing that if it is, the “transit” hold is just to keep it from being shelved.

I wonder if I’ll read either–I’ve been returning books unread and DVDs unseen, because time runs out before I can get to them. This is part of the reason I prefer to buy books; if I own it, I can read it when I get to it.

What’s on the reading table right now? The Master by Colm Toíbín. It’s written in long blocks of narrative, broken up perhaps once every 20 pages with a little bit of dialogue, which is not what I’m used to, yet I find it compelling reading anyway. Perhaps because it’s reading more like non-fiction than fiction; I’ve been on a non-fiction binge lately, so this might be exactly what I’m in the mood for.

At any rate, it’s about Henry James, and I’m enjoying it tremendously. I don’t know what I’m going to do when I’ve finished it.

Does that ever happen to you? You finish a book and then have a bear of a time finding something else to read, because nothing else will suit?

Leave a Reply

