Report on Rumspringa

Short version: It’s excellent, well worth the wait. All of the wait.

Longer version: As it happened, Abundance did beat Rumspringa but by less than an hour. Both came in on Thursday; as soon as Rumspringa arrived, I marched my little self down the street to pick it up.

It’s not very long–I finished it at lunch today–but it’s well-written and thought-provoking, considering what it means to be a teenager and an adult in mainstream America, as well as what it means to be an Amish teenager and adult. The author seemed respectful of the Amish, their culture and their choices, even though he didn’t agree with them personally. My sense is that he recognizes that nothing without value can last as long as the Amish have. (The sect’s origins go back to the middle of the 16th century, so we’re talking 450 years.)

Weirdly enough, some of the ideas it offered for me to consider are valuable in the context of my fantasy; one of the things he talks about is how its myths and origin stories help to make a society cohesive, a single thing. All the members of a society tell each other the same stories about that society–“life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness”, anyone?–and that common store helps them to identify themselves as members of the society. Clearly something I need to consider as I write…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Oct 28, 2006 @ 17:45:00

    It sounds very interesting. I love the way you nurture your WIP with all kinds of books: that common store helps them to identify themselves as members of the society. Clearly something I need to consider as I write…

    I think this is what makes you such a good writer. For me, the stuff that goes into what I write is subconscious. I only see the pieces of this and that later.

    Glad you finally got Rumspringa!

    Kim:)

    Reply

  2. Tess
    Oct 30, 2006 @ 15:26:00

    Glad you enjoyed the book after such a long wait!!

    And thanks for your comments about my blog 🙂 They’re much appreciated!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

