And then…

And then, after all that work, that disappearing act, I didn’t end up giving the workshop after all. I got sick, sick with the worst headache of my entire, occasionally migraine-plagued life. It still lingers, in fact, but it’s manageable now, which is more than I could have said Sunday. I spent most of the day in bed, waiting, waiting, waiting for the headache to lift, unable to eat or drink anything (including a girl’s best friend, painkillers) because anything that went down promptly came back up.

It was awful.

Yesterday morning I could (and did) get some pharmaceutical assistance to remain in my system and that drove off all awareness of pain. Thank goodness.

And my chapter, bless their hearts, have asked me to try again in February. I wish I hadn’t let them down, but I intend to use the intervening time to make the workshop stronger. Because, you know, you’ve got to make use of what life hands you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lorraine
    Nov 22, 2006 @ 00:35:00

    Oh, no! I’m so, so sorry! That sounds like the Mother of all Migraines! Poor baby!

    I’m glad you’re better now.

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Nov 25, 2006 @ 15:55:00

    Oh, Katy! I’m so sorry. I had no idea you got sick.

    I’m glad they’ll let you do the workshop on another day. I’m sure it will be great when you finally do it.

    Huge hugs,
    Kim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

