Christmas meme

Courtesy of Lady Tess.

Your Name: Katy

1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate? Oh, this is a tough one… Egg Nog, partly because it’s really only available around now. (Yes, I do the kind that comes from the supermarket. My dad made it with eggs once and it was nasty.)

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree? He wraps them. Sometimes he uses newspaper. He’s very creative and tricky.

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white? White on the tree. None on the house.

4. Do you hang mistletoe? No…

5. When do you put your decorations up? No earlier than a couple of weeks before. My own little protest against the decorations that go up before Veterans’ Day.

6. What is your favorite holiday dish? I’m torn between meat-stuffed manicotti and English Delight (which is what my father called a toasted English muffin topped with bacon, a tomato slice and cheddar cheese that was broiled so the cheese melted–it’s a Christmas breakfast tradition that goes back years.)

7. Favorite Holiday memory as a child: I don’t have one, not from childhood. Favorite Holiday memory? My beloved buying me an upright vacuum cleaner. Why? Because he listened when I told him I really wanted it.

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa? I don’t remember, but I know I was telling my younger brother and sister when I was six (and they were four). The repercussions from that are one of my childhood holiday memories .

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve? Not any more.

10. How do you decorate your Christmas Tree? With crafty ornaments, glass balls and rocking horse ornaments.

11. Snow! Love it or Dread it? Neither–mostly just endure it.

12. Can you ice skate? No. I used to have such a bad sense of balance that walking was an adventure…but that’s improved and I’m in generally better condition, so I’ve been thinking about trying to learn.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift? The vacuum-cleaner notwithstanding, my favorite gift is Ken Burns’ The Civil War on videotape. The beloved noticed that I kept watching the tapes I’d made and that they were in rough shape, so he got it for me. I would never have asked for it and I loved it.

14. What’s the most important thing about the Holidays for you? Family time.

15. What is your favorite Holiday Dessert? Donuts.

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition? This will sound whacked, but my sisters come over and we pretty much spend the day eating and watching HBO’s Band of Brothers. (One sister and I gave the other sister the DVDs one year. I hadn’t seen the series, so we watched it, and thus was a tradition born.) Though, really, it’s spending the whole day with my sisters.

17. What tops your tree? Nothing. I don’t have a topper I like and I’m not feeling the lack, so none.

18. Which do you prefer giving or Receiving? I like receiving but I love giving when I think I’ve found a great gift.

19. What is your favorite Christmas Song? Tough question, with a list for an answer. Greg Lake, I Believe In Father Christmas. Sting, Gabriel’s Message. U2, Christmas (Baby, Please Come Home). And now I have some lovely, golden woman’s voice singing, “I’ll be home for Christmas, if only in my dreams.”

20. Candy Canes! Yuck or yum? One is yum, more are yuck.

Consider yourself tagged…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Dec 02, 2006 @ 14:07:00

    Reply

Leave a Reply

