Happy New Year

Happy New Year to everyone who reads this, and everyone who doesn’t. And if you’re making resolutions, I hope you keep every one.

I tend not to make resolutions at New Year’s. Generally speaking, if there’s something I know I want to change about myself or my life, the moment I’m ready to start making the change rarely comes at this time of year. I decided I wanted to start writing fiction again in October, I decided I was ready to try to lose weight in June, and I started working out at the beginning of April. (All in different years, mind: I’m not that crazy.)

Okay, no resolutions. What about goals? What do I want to accomplish in 2007? I once heard that a goal is a dream with a deadline, a definition I’ve always liked. The trick is to make sure the deadline is reasonable. I’ve also heard that goals need to be things you can control. So “get published” can’t really be a goal, since one doesn’t have control over whether or not one’s work will be bought. One does have control, however, in licking one’s work into publishable shape, so that could be a goal.

I tend to think of goals as the things I want to get done. When setting goals at work, I tend to focus on things that annoy me because they’re unfinished or unaddressed, things I would want to fix even if they weren’t goals. So what’s annoying me in my non-working life that I want to fix or finish?

Well, there’s the fantasy. I want that pup written, or at least substantially finished by the end of the year. My original goal was for it to be outlined by the end of January, and written by mid-July, but that’s not going to happen; life intervened. That’s the really cool thing about goals—they can be modified if necessary.

One of the things that makes modifying the finishing the novel goal necessary is being kidnapped by the other story. That I want finished by the end of January. It’s going to be no more than 30-40 pages long and I already have 8 written, so I’m thinking that if I get on the stick, this is do-able.

Those are my personal writing goals. I also have one personal goal, and that’s to start the process of going back to school. I’m pretty sure I know where I’m going and what I’m doing, but confirming that will be part of the process. I want to have a plan in place by the beginning of July, if I’m not already registered, etc.

And those are my goals for 2007. We’ll see how I do…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. romance phd
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 22:13:00

    Yay for you! I like your goals and your philosophy.

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 02:52:00

    I love goals instead of resolutions. I think I’ll set some goals too.

    Happy New Year. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 18:13:00

    Great goals, Katy. And Happy New Year!
    Thanks for your lovely words late last year 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

