Con-spire

In one of the blogs I read regularly, the word “conspire” was broken in two with a dot, and suddenly I thought, “Breathe with.” So I looked up conspire with a view to finding out if I was right about that “breathe with.”

And I was. Mind you, conspire still has some fairly sinister connotations, but there’s still something lovely about the image of two people so in tune, so in harmony, that they breathe together.

~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~

Harmony leads me to an excellent book, one that explained a lot of things about music that I didn’t know before and still don’t entirely understand. Once I get the book back from my sister, I suspect I shall be re-reading it–I have a feeling that a few things will finally sink in. The book is This Is Your Brain on Music: The Science of a Human Obsession by Daniel J. Levitin. It’s engagingly written, and the examples he uses are things I know–before he became a neuroscientist, Levitin was a record producer.

~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~

After reading the Levitin book, I turned to Sarah Graves’s latest, Trap Door. There’s no particular reason I like her books so much, except that I like the way she writes, and I love visiting her fictional Eastport. I live on the east coast, so I’ve occasionally been tempted to go up and see the real Eastport, but I’m not sure I want to spoil what I’ve imagined, if that makes any sense.

One of the things I like about the series is how she keeps Jake off-balance. There’s always something or other not quite right in her world, but she doesn’t have whatever it is linger too long. She solves the problem…and creates another one. The problems have been getting darker and more realistic, which is both sad and bracing.

And now I only have to wait another year for the next book.

~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~

With that finished, I’m kind of between books. I have a lot of fantasy on my pile, but I’m afraid to read it. The stuff that appeals to me as a reader is also appealing to me as a writer, and I’m afraid of being too heavily influenced. If I come up with an idea that’s very like something someone else did, I want to know that it was coincidence and not borrowing. Or stealing, for that matter.

I’ve started another mystery, this one set in Appalachia, but I’m not sure I’m going to finish it. The writing isn’t doing it for me. I’m not sure that’s the writer’s fault; I think I’m looking for something like Sharyn McCrumb, and this book isn’t it for me. (Despite the common setting and a lovely cover quote from Ms. McCrumb.)

~ * ~ *~ * ~ * ~
And that’s about all I have going on right now…
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jan 11, 2007 @ 15:51:00

    I know what you mean about being afraid to read something too close to what you’re writing. That’s why I haven’t, as yet, read Isolde Martyn’s French Rev book even though I’ve loved all her other ones *sigh*.

    I just finished Elizabeth Chadwick’s The Greatest Knight – it was fantastic!!

    Reply

  2. Katy Cooper
    Jan 11, 2007 @ 21:41:00

    Hmmmm, I’ll have to check out the Martyn book you can’t read. Not that I don’t have a bazillion things on the TBR…

    And maybe I’ll try Elizabeth Chadwick again–I have to say, the few times I’ve picked up her books, they’ve just intimidated the heck out of me. As if she does what I ought to do, but don’t want to…

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Jan 12, 2007 @ 16:20:00

    Don’t let her intimidate you! You’re no slouch yourself in the fiction writing department 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

