Slacker

I haven’t been to the gym all week long. All week long, at 6:00 AM when I need to head out, the feels-like temperature has been right around 0°F (-17.8°C).

Um, that’s a little bit cold for me.

I suppose I could go at night–yeah, it’s still cold, but I’m not fresh from a toasty bed. I’ve been up. I’ve braved the brutal air already. Plus, at 6:30 PM, it’s not quite as brutal.

The problem with going at night is that the gym is more crowded, and the odds are pretty good I won’t be able to get at the machines I need. That’s why I started going early in the morning–so I could work out, instead of standing around because every single possibility for that part of my body (back, chest, biceps, triceps, legs) was being used.

If this were the first time I’d taken a week off, I might be freaking out a little bit. (Because that’s what I do when I don’t stay on the straight-and-narrow: I freak out a little bit.) But it isn’t, so I’m good.

And it was nice to slack, if only for a little bit.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cherry Red
    Feb 09, 2007 @ 00:57:00

    I go to the gym at 5;30 AM for the same reason. Just me and the retired people. 🙂 After work I’m too tired. Plus I have to cook dinner and I hate eating late.

    Don’t worry about your slacking. You need to do that once in a while, right? You’ll get back in there. That’s really cold in the morning. Who can blame you!?

    hugs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

