17 Things That Aren’t True About Me

  1. There’s no truth to the rumor I’ve run away from home.
  2. There’s no truth to the rumor I disappeared into the Bermuda Triangle (though there was talk of going to Bermuda on a cruise).
  3. There’s no truth to the rumor that I’ve slipped sideways through time in order to bring back a firsthand report of Lexington and Concord. (Monday was Patriot’s Day in Massachusetts, which–in theory–commemorates the Battles of Lexington and Concord.)
  4. There’s no truth to the rumor that I’m worn out from running the Boston Marathon. (Also on Monday.
  5. There’s no truth to the rumor I’m going to be playing for the Pawtucket Red Sox in preparation for my major league debut as the new closer for the Red Sox.
  6. There’s no truth to the rumor that I’ve signed a six-figure 2-book contract with a major publisher.
  7. There’s no truth to the rumor Prince of Hearts is going to be made into a major motion picture starring Matt Damon. Lord Sebastian’s Wife isn’t being made into a movie starring Jude Law, either.
  8. There’s no truth to the rumor that I’m running for president of the U.S. Or of RWA, for that matter.
  9. There’s no truth to the rumor I’m related to the Queen of England. (I am, however, related to John Rolfe, who married Pocohontas.)
  10. There’s no truth to the rumor I’m really a blonde.
  11. There’s no truth to the rumor that I have a Ph.D. in anything.
  12. There’s no truth to the rumor I have 14 children and live in a seaside mansion in Pride’s Crossing, Massachusetts.
  13. There’s no truth to the rumor I’m a witch living in Salem.
  14. There’s no truth to the rumor I work for NASA and I’ll be going up on the next shuttle mission.
  15. There’s no truth to the rumor I’m JFK’s secret love child with Marilyn Monroe.
  16. There’s no truth to the rumor I have a tattoo of an English king on every limb.
  17. There’s no truth to the rumor I live with 342 cats in a one-bedroom apartment across from Fenway Park.

This started out as an explanation for my long silence, and then I started having fun with it. I picked 17 because it was a random number…and I didn’t even realize until after I’d picked it that it’s a prime number. Go me.

Anyway, the truth is there is no explanation for my long silence, except I haven’t had much to say. I’ve been scribbling faithfully–yesterday was the 95th day since the beginning of the year that I’ve worked on my story.

Well, scribbling…I don’t mean what I’ve always meant in the past. In the past that meant writing the narrative of the story. These days, it means working on developing the plan of what I will write when I get to the narrative. I’m almost entirely certain I’m a plotter (one who plots her story out before she writes) rather than a pantser (one who flies by the seat of her pants). I’m not sure whether I was always a plotter, or if I’ve simply become one over time. Anyway, I’m productive, and my story owns half my head, something that hasn’t happened for (literal) years. So I’m happy.

If silent….

So, what rumors aren’t true about you?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cherry Red
    Apr 19, 2007 @ 01:33:00

    I want to take credit for putting idea #13 into your head since I was discussing witches with you yesterday!

    1. There’s no truth to the rumor that I’ve actually written any part of my WIP other than plotting notes…but it’s still going swimmingly. And Ihave three stars in a row on my calendar!

    There’s no truth to the rumor that I am a plotter–even though I have been plotting as of late, I will always be organic (AKA a pantster)–in my heart, anyway.

    There’s no truth to the rumor that I’ve missed one day on my Today’s Beautiful Thing Blog since I started it. Nope! Not a single day since January 20th. Go me.

    Hugs girl,
    Kim

    Reply

  2. Julie
    Apr 19, 2007 @ 14:06:00

    This reminds of the Thursday Thirteen thing I’ve seen on other blogs. Anyway…

    1. There’s no truth to the rumor that I’m going to be a contestant on American Idol, Dancing with the Stars, Skating with the Stars, Survivor, the Amazing Race, Fear Factor or any other reality show you can think of.

    2. There’s no truth to the rumor that I’m 30. God, I’d love it to be true, but I’m way past 30.

    3. There’s no truth to the rumor that I’m a closet Dominatrix.

    4. There’s no truth to the rumor that I’m sweet and innocent. (Must be the young-looking face that fools them every time.)

    I suppose I could find more, but I figure these are good. 🙂

    Julie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

