Fly-by

Fly-by means this will be short.

I think.

I often think I’ll be short and then I yap away. The last post was like that–it sort of grabbed me by the hair and ran with me.

I’ve been absent because my life has done that recently. I’ve been working on a lot of smallish things–scribbling, RWA meetings, making regular appearances at the day gig, spending time with the beloved and the sister people–that aren’t particularly fascinating to report, however interesting they were to live. So no report on those.

As usual, I’ve been reading–I’m a reading fiend who currently has 25 books out from the library, with half a dozen on hold, and more books than I can count in the TBR pile. Right now, I’m reading Sea of Thunder: Four Commanders and the Last Great Naval Campaign 1941-1945 by Evan Thomas–I started it last night and so far it’s very readable. (Not all history books are, I’m sorry to say, so this is high praise than it might sound.)

I started it after finishing A Royal Affair: George III and His Scandalous Siblings by Stella Tillyard. My first exposure to Tillyard was Aristocrats: Caroline, Emily, Louisa, and Sarah Lennox, 1740-1832, which was turned into a two-part series for Masterpiece Theatre; that got me curious so I went back to the book. As Tillyard says somewhere in A Royal Affair, her career has tended to focus on the impact of siblings on a given personage, rather than parents, children or society. Since I am very close to my sisters, this is particularly interesting. I didn’t know anything about George III’s brothers and sisters; what I found out made me sad.

And before all that, I read the latest Loretta Chase, Not Quite A Lady, which was, as usual, fabulous. I’ve only read it once…which may sound peculiar unless you know that I’ve read Lord Perfect something like half a dozen times in the last year. But I know I’ll read it again.

And that’s pretty much where I’ve been, mentally at least.

Leave a Reply

