Speakers Matter

A million years ago, when I was a young and foolish sprout, I once said that speakers didn’t matter. I truly believed the quality of the speakers–of the whole sound system–didn’t matter. Today, listening on my mp3 player to songs I’ve known forever, I wonder what the heck I was thinking.

Of course it matters. It matters enormously.

Listening to old favorites on a system that allows me to hear all the things I’d missed, all that texture, is like hearing new songs. All those layers, all those nuances, all those sounds I hadn’t heard before–it’s kind of the aural equivalent of the moment in The Wizard of Oz when things go from black & white to color.

I find myself putting songs on repeat and listening to all the little details I’ve missed for years, losing myself in songs again. It’s the coolest thing, and it makes me very happy.

Leave a Reply

