Brain Cramp

Apparently I reach a point with every story where it makes my brain cramp. I’m at that point with The Dragon-Wife, and it’s partly perplexing and partly fascinating. Perplexed, because I was convinced using the Snowflake Method, I would avoid this, and fascinated because it’s turned out not to be true.

The cramp is because there’s too much information in my head that I can’t quite seem to get my arms around. It feels like a jumbled mess, to be candid. I’ve decided to stop trying to write the story from Narthé’s point of view–it’s just not working, not coming to me the way Ilsabet’s and Kerlis’s stories did…though as I write that, I remember that I wrote to music when I was working on Ilsabet and Kerlis but not on Narthé. Huh. Maybe that made a difference…

Okay, despite that (maybe) discovery, I’m still suffering from brain cramp because I have a lot of story and no grip on it. Right now I feel like I’m in the forest, trying to make my way through it while being unable to see anything but the leaves.

Sigh…

Thankfully, one of the things I love about writing is that it’s challenging. Otherwise, I’d be ready to tear my hair and weep.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. chrisfiore5
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 16:59:12

    hello katy,

    just dropped by to check out the latest entry in your blog…

    interestingly enough, one of my nieces is named katy, she is very nice.

    I appreciate your candor when it comes to the perplexities of writing…

    hope you work out that cramp.

    peace.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

