Hope v. Experience

I’m going to RWA National next week, and I’ve decided to bring a pad of paper and the right pen specifically dedicated to working on the dragon story. With the aid of very dear writing friends, I’m fairly sure I’ve solved the problem of the flat spot in the middle. At any rate, when I think about what’s going to happen in that spot and when I think about what happens afterwards, I get a nice, tense, clutchy feeling in my stomach. I’m pretty sure that means the middle raises the stakes. Which is really what it needs to do.

The thing is, bringing paper and pen for scribbling is very much “the triumph of hope over experience.” I almost always bring the wherewithal to scribble, and I never have the time or mental energy to do it. I’ll think, “I’ll work on the plane,” but I have to have chemical assistance in coping with the anxiety flying provokes, and that sort of interferes with scribblery.

And yet, I’m still going to do this. I might not actually write narrative. Instead, I might just capture random thoughts about what I’m going to write in the middle. I need to capture my ideas when they appear, since they disappear pretty quickly.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jude
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 20:10:02

    You’re not alone, and I always choose hope.

    Have fun in SF!

    Reply

  2. Karen Foley
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 20:52:09

    Oh, what a good idea, Katy!! I can’t tell you how many times I wished I’d had a pen and a pad of paper handy to capture some random (but amazing, LOL) thought. And you reminded me of something important I meant to do; buy a pretty pen for the booksigning! Can’t wait to see you there!

    Reply

  3. katycooper
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 15:36:41

    Jude, I will have fun in SF (I hope!).

    Karen, I’m pretty sure I’m bringing a dozen pens to SF :). I like color, and different kinds of paper require different pens. So 5-6 pens for the conference note-taking book (a smallish, hardcover Moleskine book) and 5-6 pens for the working-on-the-story softcover Clairefontaine book. The pens are all Pilot — the Precise V5 Rolling Pen for the Moleskine book, and the V Razor Point Marker pen for the Clairefontaine. I’m a little…finicky about pens.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

