Nora Roberts’ Dream Trilogy: September 1, 2008

There is a reason Nora Roberts may be the best-selling author in the U.S. — she’s a terrific storyteller. Last night, I started the first book in the “Dream” trilogy, Daring to Dream. My initial reaction was a little lukewarm, which happens with some Roberts books, and I found myself thinking that Roberts is definitely an author I have to be in the mood for.

And then I stayed up past midnight reading, started again after breakfast, and spent most of the afternoon reading. I finished the first book at some point, and started on the second, Holding the Dream, which is half-finished.

It’s a glorious, sunny afternoon, breezy and beautiful. Sitting in comfort on my bed, I can see sunlight in the needles of the pine tree outside the wide-open window and in the leaves of the tree across the street. I almost never spend the day just reading any more, but I used to do it all the time in my teens and early 20s. This feels like a forbidden treat, and like a return to who I really am. I believe it’s recharching my batteries and I think I’m going to have to do it more often.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shaunitha
    Sep 02, 2008 @ 17:38:31

    I very much like your comments about NR. I think she’s amazing as well. my favourite was the Quinn Brothers Trilogy and of course the 4th additional book, Chesapeake Blue. In that book, i feel that she brought 4 brothers who doesn’t share the same blood , but in a way the same heart and the love for the man who raised them binds them so strongly ( Apart from Seth, who in reality in the book was Quinn’s grandson) but hey, nevertheless it was a great series of books, keep up the work!

    Reply

  2. katycooper
    Sep 02, 2008 @ 19:33:40

    The Chesapeake Bay books were the ones that allowed me to finally “get” Nora Roberts, and they remain my favorites, too. At the end of the third book, I had to hold the book over my head to read it — if I hadn’t, tears would have blinded me.

    I also love the “Born In” trilogy and The Three Fates. The one I’ve had problems with is the Three Sisters trilogy, basically because I live in northeastern Massachusetts, and my experience of it is absolutey unlike the place described.

    Yet I keep trying…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

