September 16, 2008: Not Goofing Off, After All

It turns out I wasn’t goofing off yesterday, after all; I was working on my story. As I was brushing my teeth, a new beginning came to me, almost all at once, beautiful in its possibilities, beautiful in its unkindness to lsabet. That unkindness makes her vulnerable, and sets up her struggle.

Then, as I was contemplating this lovely idea, another idea came to me, about how to handle the first meeting with Mr. Enser. It shifts Ilsabet’s character a little bit, but I’m okay with that — it’s not a huge difference, and I think it makes the story stronger. Anything that makes the story stronger is a good thing.

Now it’s just a matter of writing what I’ve figured out…

Leave a Reply

