It Caught Fire: September 29, 2008

For the Thrill of It : Leopold, Loeb, and the Murder That Shocked Chicago caught my attention Friday night, once I left the section on the crime itself and moved on to the sections about the attorneys and the courtroom. In the end, I think the long first section was necessary for the shape of the book overall. It seems to me that I needed to understand the genesis of the crime, the investigation and the arrest of Leopold and Loeb for the rest of it to make sense.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

I went to the library today, returning a whole bunch of stuff, and borrowing more. Because that’s what I do. I’m pretty sure I brought back more than I borrowed, but the fact I write “I’m pretty sure” indicates it’s a close-run thing. I borrowed more than I could bring home in one trip, in fact. Oh, and I bought a book, too. 

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

The book I bought is Mike Carey’s The Devil You Know. I bought it because of this post on Robin McKinley’s blog

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

On the bus tonight, I started reading The Dark, a collection of ghost stories edited by Ellen Datlow. It’s one of the books I’ve had out for a while that I’ve finally worked my way to. I’ve only read one story in full, Jeffrey Ford’s “The Trentino Kid”. It’s a fabulous story, and one line in particular still floors me, the narrator describing a childhood moment with his father: “he held my hand in his big callused mitt, like a rock with fingers.”

God really is in the details.

Leave a Reply

