October 6, 2008: Don’t Forget To Write It Down

Or how I lost what I think was a really good idea.

I like the current opening of Dragonfly — the first few paragraphs anyway. The other night, I had an idea for what do immediately after that opening, someting that would advance the story and help get some information about the world, the dragons and the saints, onto the page to give some context to Mr. Enser’s visit. 

It was such a great idea that I knew I would remember it. No question.

Sometimes I have no clue.

I forgot what I had. I probably forgot it almost as soon as I thought it up.

The maddening thing is this: I keep paper and pen with me at all times, all times, just so I won’t lose good ideas when I got them. But I lost this one.

And I’m too loopy with this lingering, miserable chest cold to be able to figure it out again right now.

The good news is that I do remember, roughly, what it was about: Ilsabet and her sister Ennevel talking about dragons and saints because it has to do with the letter Ilsabet gets when the story opens.

(On a side note, I loved this post by Sarah Monette from her blog, Notes from the Labyrinth. It’s part of what sparked that great (now missing) idea.)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Oct 06, 2008 @ 23:06:09

    I always think I’ll remember that great idea, then I forget, and then I think, “I’ll write it down next time, I swear,” and then next time comes and I think, “No, this time I’ll remember it, I’m sure of it,” and then….well, you know what’s coming next.

    Glad you can remember some of it, though. That’s a start.

    Reply

  2. Teresa
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 13:06:47

    Ouch. I learned that the hard way too. Now I ALWAYS write things down. There are notebooks/pens in all my purses *g*. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

    Reply

  3. katycooper
    Oct 07, 2008 @ 19:24:11

    I think I remember the whole thing. That, or what I remember makes me just as happy. And it’s written down 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

