The Night Villa and a Darcy Mystery: October 6, 2008

I finished The Night Villa last night. My final response is tepid: it was pleasant to read, relatively interesting, but not, for me, a magical read. I didn’t devour it, I didn’t close it with a happy sigh, but I didn’t have to force myself to finish it. (I almost never force myself to finish books any more — I just don’t have the time or the desire any more.)

After that, I read Carrie Bebris’s The Matters at Mansfield (A Mr. and Mrs. Darcy Mystery). The amateur sleuths in the series are Elizabeth and Darcy from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice; the series has (so far) connected to a Jane Austen novel. They’re light cozies, not particularly taxing reading, but very enjoyable, and I look forward to all of them.

I’m not sure what I’m reading next. I’m feeling some pressure to read Brunonia Barry’s The Lace Reader. it’s a library book, it’s due October 14, and there’s no way I’ll be able to renew it. So, read it now while I have it. It’s set in Salem, MA, but Barry is a North Shore native, so I’m thinking the Salem she writes about will bear some resemblance to the Salem I know. And that will be a good thing.

So, it’s probably The Lace Reader…but I might kick over the traces and read something completely different.

Leave a Reply

