October 19, 2008: No Fear

As I said before, I’m a Red Sox fan. Given that tonight is game 7 of the 2008 ALCS, baseball’s on my mind a little bit.

I find wisdom in baseball that can be applied to my writing life. Josh Beckett once said, “Worrying about results corrupts the process.” I try to keep that in mind when I’m worrying about the impact of what I’m doing.

On September 29, 2008, Tony Massarotti said of Terry Francona, “He isn’t afraid to lose.” That’s been resonating with me since I read it, and I think it’s something I need to keep in mind. I can’t be afraid of failing; I can’t be afraid of being wrong. I can’t be afraid people won’t like what I’m doing. I have to go for it, to take the necessary risks.

No matter what happens tonight, I’m taking this as my mantra for the rest of the year: don’t be afraid to lose.

Leave a Reply

