October 26, 2008: Whew!

Did I mention that I’m totally revamping the opening to Dragonfly? Well, the new first scene is done, or at least is as done as it’s going to be for a while, so it’s time to move on to the now second scene, to revise it so it’s in line with my new vision of the story.

I’ve been working with the opening scene as its own chapter, so I haven’t opened the story’s master file in a while. I opened it a little while ago, to grab what will now be the second scene and create it as a seperate file for intensive revision.

It was gone. Gone, gone, gone, gone. All the stuff that I wanted to fix, deleted. I spent a moment thinking “What the…??” and then I remembered that I had posted a scene to a small critique group I’m in — maybe that was the scene I needed…

It was. Whew!

So now it’s onward, revising more.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 16:06:31

    One of those PANIC! moments when your heart stops. I hate those, especially when I know I left that scene right there and where has it gone? Who took it?

    So glad there was another copy floating around.

    Reply

  2. Teresa
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 16:23:20

    Phew indeed! Glad you found it. I’ve had those heart-stopping moments as well. It’s just such an awful feeling as you know you’ll never get the exact words/thoughts/ideas out again.

    Reply

  3. katycooper
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 20:05:35

    Note to self: be careful what you delete.

    Usually, when I’m making a major change to the story, hacking out a huge chunk, I save the original as a separate file. I don’t know why I didn’t do it this time…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

