Score! And What I Read This Weekend: October 27, 2008

What is it about gift certificates that makes me absolutely itchy to spend them? My sisters-in-law gave me a Borders gift card on Friday night, and I’ve already spent it. Saturday I ordered The Bell at Sealey Head by Patricia McKillip from Borders.com; this afternoon I ran across the street to the brick-and-mortar Borders and spent the end of it on Meljean Brooks’s Demon Bound.

I finished two books this weekend: Things the Grandchildren Should Know, a memoir by Mark Oliver Everett of the band EELS; and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. Both were books I reserved because I’d read good reviews and/or they had good word-of-mouth. Both were worth the time spent reading, and I recommend both.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meljean
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 02:47:22

    How awesome that it’s showing up! I don’t even have a copy yet, but I might run over to my local Borders to see if I can snag one.

    Thank you! and I hope you enjoy it 🙂

    Reply

  2. katycooper
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 20:40:55

    I’m absolutely positive I will enjoy it. I have four days off this weekend, and I intend to spend them reading, reading, reading.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

