October 28, 2008: Oh, Decisions!

Nothing much to report today — I’m now torn between two possible scenes as the second scene.

Or at least I was until I wrote that. As I was writing, I realized that the second conflict has to advance the main plot, not introduce the subplot, and there’s no question which scene does that. So, hello, Mr. Enser, and Im sorry, Prince Kerlis, you have to await your turn.

Writing this (and my reading blog) can be expensive time- and energy-wise, but on nights like tonight, when keeping to my discipline sparks an important realization, I recognize that this is less an expense than an investment.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 14:34:34

    I love it when you have that aha moment about which way to go next.

    Reply

  2. Teresa
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 19:13:08

    Katy – I know what you mean. Sometimes when I’m stuck, I just get a pen and paper and write stuff down in a conversational way, working through the problem and often it results in well, results *g*.

    Glad your blogging has helped you with the opening scene 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

