November 4, 2008: It’s Hard

Today, at lunch, I worked on the second scene. I wrestled it all up and down my workstation, getting pinned more often than not. The struggle reminded me that writing is hard.

At the same time, it’s incredibly rewarding, and I suspect part of the reason it’s rewarding is that it’s hard. Like Jimmy Dugan says in A League of Their Own: “It’s supposed to be hard. If it wasn’t hard, everyone would do it. The hard… is what makes it great.” (Quote courtesy of imdb.com). I’d like to believe that the degree of difficulty in writing it is some kind of indicator of how good the final product will be, but sadly, I know better. Some of the best things I’ve ever written just flowed out of me.

Still, all I can do is my best. And so that’s what I do.

~*~*~*~*~

I’m still reading The 19th Wife but I’m close to the end. Part of what made the struggle with scene two so tough is that I’m tired — I stayed up way too late last night reading, the unmistakeable sign of a good book. The downside to a good book is that when I come to the end of it, I usually have no idea what’s next. I’m pretty sure that’ll happen this time, too. N

o doubt I’ll pick up a whole bunch of things and look at them, and if I’m lucky, one will grab me and that’ll be what I’ll read next. If I’m not lucky, I’ll flail around, reading bits of things for a few days. In the end I’ll find something, because I can’t not read.

~*~*~*~*~

Because this is important, I want to say I voted tonight. I went to my voting place and found no lines, just people voting. There’s something different about this election, a sense of engagement I don’t remember from before. I think that’s very cool — in fact, I think that’s the coolest thing of all.

Leave a Reply

