November 5, 2008: Silence

Sometimes silence swallows me, and I don’t want to talk. I don’t want to think in the kind of words that can be written or spoken. The conversation I’m having with myself is more wordless than not; the words I have won’t make sense without context; and what’s going on inside isn’t interesting enough to go through all the effort of explaining it.

The big thing driving this is that I’m tired — not enough sleep again last night, partly due to the election and partly due to my desire to finish The 19th Wife (which was excellent and a satisfying read). No writing today and, if I’m smart, little or no reading tonight. If I don’t get enough sleep, i won’t be able to do anything I want to do and everything I want to accomplish will take a day longer.

We’ll see.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 20:16:13

    Hope the day off leaves you rejuvenated for tomorrow. Writing when exhausted is not easy.

    Reply

  2. Amy
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 22:43:31

    Get some rest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

