November 14, 2008: Grinding It Out

I realized that one of my problems with the second scene is that I didn’t have any real idea of what was going on in the non-POV character’s head and heart as the scene unfolded. That made his half of the conversation flat, and that deflated the scene.

So when I tackled the revisions this week, I kept pausing to think through what was going on with Mr. Enser, the non-POV character. The scene went off in directions I hadn’t expected, but I think that’s a good thing. At any rate, I rather like what the scene’s become…and I think it’s done. I wrote a sentence, and thought, “That’s it.” There was nothing more to say. I could write Mr. Enser being shown from the house, but why? It doesn’t add anything to the story.

So the second scene is done. On to the third.

Leave a Reply

