December 17, 2008: Preparing for the Storm

Tomorrow night’s journey home is likely to be a lengthy one — there’s a big old winter storm bearing down on the Northeast, and I’ll have to slog my way out. Well, the bus driver will be doing the slogging; I’m just going along for (the probably really long) ride.

The one thing I really need is something to read. I’ll have my iPod with me, and that’s a good thing, but I’ll definitely need reading material. Right now, I’m reading Owen Matthews’ Stalin’s Children: Three Generations of Love, War, and Survival, but I’m almost finished with it. In fact, I expect I’ll finish it tonight.

I have plenty of books to choose from; here’s what I have out from the library alone:

  • Angel of Mercy by Toni Andrews
  • Beg for Mercy by Toni Andrews
  • The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry
  • Antediluvian Tales by Poppy Z. Brite
  • People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks
  • Desert Father : A Journey in the Desert with Saint Anthony by James Cowan
  • The Birth of Christianity : Discovering What Happened in the Years Immediately After the Execution of Jesus by John Dominic Crossan
  • His Excellency : George Washington by Joseph J. Ellis
  • Blood Ties : the Castings Trilogy, Book One by Pamela Freeman
  • The Religious History of America by Edwin S.  Gaustad
  • Human : The Science Behind What Makes Us Unique by Michael S. Gazzaniga
  • Ilario: The Lion’s Eye : A Story of the First History, Book One by Mary Gentle
  • Outliers : The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell
  • Catching Life by the Throat : How to Read Poetry and Why by Josephine Hart
  • The Black Death : A Personal History by John Hatcher
  • Sailing to Sarantium by Guy Gavriel. Kay
  • Ysabel by Guy Gavriel Kay
  • The World in Six Songs : How the Musical Brain Created Human Nature by Daniel J. Levitin
  • A Curious Courting by Laura Matthews
  • In My Lady’s Chamber by Laura Matthews
  • Doctor Olaf van Schuler’s Brain by Kirsten Menger-Anderson
  • Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning
  • Hands of Flame by C. E.  Murphy
  • The Slightest Provocation by Pam Rosenthal
  • As Good as it Got by Isabel Sharpe
  • Lincoln’s Dreams by Connie Willis

 I’m almost certainly bringing Lincoln’s Dreams with me. I might bring something else, just in case. I just don’t know what.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 12:34:47

    Sailing from Sarantium is good 🙂 Very engrossing. And though I’ve not read the new Gladwell, two of his others I found very interesting (Blink and Tipping Point)

    Reply

  2. katycooper
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 18:40:32

    I haven’t read Guy Gavriel Kay in years, but my sisters are big fans and I’ve heard nothing but fabulous things about him.

    I started Lincoln’s Dreams on the bus tonight. It’s excellent so far, but I expected that. And the ride home wasn’t much longer than usual — the bus had to go more slowly, but there was less traffic, so it more than evened out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

