December 19, 2008: Words and Music, Round Two

The other day, my friend Larry and I got into an argument about Bono’s songwriting. Well, okay, it wasn’t really an argument, it was more of a disagreement. Larry’s take was that all his lyrics are awesome; mine was that when they stink, they stink. I even showed him a blog post about it. (Which then got into a wandering discussion about blogs.)

The thing is, the discussion made me realize that part of the reason the clanking lyrics bug me so much is that when his lyrics are good, they’re fabulous:

Every artist is a cannibal, every poet is a thief
All kill their inspiration and sing about their grief

That’s one of the truest things I’ve ever read, and it’s my favorite quote of the week.

Leave a Reply

