January 2, 2009: Still With the Software

I’m still obsessing over writing software and playing with demos. Here’s what I’ve downloaded (and what my initial impressions are):

  • Writer’s Cafe (it’s pretty cool so far);
  • Celtx (it’s probably not going to be useful at all, since it seems to be geared more to visual storytelling);
  • Write Way Pro (this seems more muscular than I want/need, but comes very highly recommended);
  • Page Four (this is too basic; if I’m starting to sound like Goldilocks, I’m not surprised);
  • Power Structure (because a friend swears by it, but it’s not grabbing me; it doesn’t line up with my head quite as well as Writer’s Cafe seems to).

I also downloaded SuperNotecard as a storyboarding tool to help me map out what happens in a scene I’m developing. I need to know the arc of the POV character’s experience, but I also need to know what’s up with the non-POV character, and there are notes I want to make to myself, and…

I also went back to Freemind, the mindmapping software I’d looked at last week. This go-round, I figured out how to change the default font, and I figured out how to use shortcut keys, and those two things have made all the difference in the world. Now I’d rather play around with mapping on the computer than with pen and paper. Go figure.

I’m not entirely sure why I’m so obsessed with this, especially since I’m A) not actually writing; and B) starting to feel the itchiness I feel when I need to be writing. Maybe the two are connected; maybe I’m using all of this as a way to get back into my story. Maybe this is a form of standing on the edge of the diving board, getting ready to jump.

Of course, I won’t know what this all means until I see what (if anything) comes of it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 12:27:08

    Hi Katie,

    I use WWP and PFN. PFN is great for NaNoWriMo, then I transfer stuff over to WWP. It has so many great features and John is fantastic with support (though it’s rarely needed).

    I LOVE being able to create an outline, using scene titles (yep, you can title your scenes) and the Print Outline feature. Could gush on and on. If you have other questions re WWP, just give me a shout 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

