February 10, 2009: You Never Know, Part 2

When I was writing that post last night, I knew there was a second example of “found it in an unexpected place”, but I couldn’t remember it.

I found it this morning. It comes from Phil Rickman’s The Wine of Angels; he quotes the poet and religious writer, Thomas Traherne:

And till the ends of things are seen
The way’s uncertain that doth stand between.

If I don’t know where the story’s going, I don’t know whether or not I’m on the correct path. So knowing the end is key.

Which I now do. It came to me yesterday, so beautiful and perfect that I had my doubts. I’ve been so frustrated by not knowing the end that it was entirely possible that I was euphoric with relief. So I decided to sleep on it.

And it’s still beautiful and perfect. I can see the shape of the story as a whole in my mind’s eye, and the ending just finishes it all off beautifully. Ideas are spinning off it, ideas that tie back to what I already have, and that just makes me happier than I can say.

So, this whole thing reminds me to be alert at all times. Because you never know.

Leave a Reply

