February 22, 2009: Miscellany

I’m really tired of the winter. There have been a few nice-ish days lately that just make me long for spring. I just want to be able to wear my sneakers instead of my boots.

~*~*~*~*~

I went to the gym today. Go me. I didn’t want to go — the whole way there, I kept thinking, “I don’t want to do this, I don’t want to do this.” I realized, though, that I don’t actually have to feel any motivation whatsoever to work out. I just have to go do it.

So I did.

~*~*~*~*~

I didn’t post anything yesterday because I was grinchy-cranky, and just did not want to whine about that again. It’s still a shock to me to realize that I’m moody, but days like yesterday remind me.

~*~*~*~*~

Somehow, I’ve managed to get hooked on “NCIS”. It’s that pernicious USA TV, running marathons. I’ve decided to see if I can’t use the addiction to study story structure again.

A previous addiction helped me learn story structure: the original Law & Order when it ran on A&E, lo these many years ago. It’s the perfect TV show for getting down the basics, since the midpoint of the story couldn’t be any more obvious: It’s the point when the suspect is arrested and the story shifts to the prosecution side of things. Once you know that, it’s just a matter for looking for the other two turning points, one during the investigation and one during the trial.

You watch enough episodes, the shape works its way into your subconscious.

~*~*~*~*~

Just some thoughts on a gloomy Sunday…

Leave a Reply

