February 25, 2009: Tools for the Job

Part of finding the right tool for the job is figuring out what the job actually entails. That’s been on my mind as I try to figure out what I’m going to do about managing my personal appointments if I’m not going to lug my planner around with me. (I measured it today: the binder is 7-1/4″ x 4-1/2″ x 2″, almost as big as a trade paperback. And it’s leather and metal, so it’s heavier.)

What do I need? What do I want? What’s the job, and what tool or tools will help me accomplish it? Every idea I’ve had has had something wrong with it, some element that eliminates it from consideration, or at least suggests a level of compromise I might not be willing to make. If I’m going to spend a good chunk of change, I want something much closer to perfect than anything I’ve been able to find. So now I need to dig deep and really figure out what I want.

I will trust my gut when I’m doing it. I hate spending money; a surprising streak of frugality has taken over my life. So when I’m willing to part with more than a couple of dollars*, it’s significant. I really wanted Writer’s Cafe; a small, relentless inner voice insisted on getting it. I’m glad I paid heed  — since getting the full version of WC, things have started to loosen up inside. I think on some level I’m realizing I don’t have to keep the shape of the story in my head; I have a tool that does that for me.

What I need, more than anything, is for the instinct that said, “Get Writer’s Cafe,” to say. “Do this,” about my calendar problem. Maybe now that I’ve admitted that to myself, the solution will come. That’s how it works, more often than not. Or maybe I’ll just have a clearer idea of what I want.

One may hope.

* I’m agonizing over spending $7.99 on a book, a book, so you know I really hate spending money.

Leave a Reply

