February 27, 2009: The Great Escape

My friends and I have been talking lately about what we read and why, and out of that discussion I’ve had something I’ve vaguely known about myself as a reader brought into clarity.

I read to escape. I read to get away from my life and its stresses. I don’t read to be reminded that life is hard and unjust and sometimes good people lose and bad people win. Life does a fabulous job of reminding me of that all on its own.

A good book will take you out of yourself. If you’re reading genre fiction, you’re promised justice of one kind or another; if you’re reading non-fiction, you’re learning something. It’s like a mini-vacation, one that doesn’t involve packing or messing with the airlines.

Leave a Reply

