April 20, 2009: Where Was I?

Today is Patriot’s Day in Massachusetts, commemorating the battles of Lexington and Concord. It’s also Marathon Monday, when over 26,00o runners race the 26.2 miles from Hopkinton, MA, to Boston. The finish line of the Marathon is two blocks from where I work, which makes my commute … interesting.

If I go in. I didn’t today. Today I took the day off, thinking I could get a lot of scribbling done. (Well, I took it off mainly to avoid dealing with the commute; getting a lot of scribbling work done was supposed to be gravy.)

Of course, having lots and lots of time to write means I got nothing done. Because that’s the way it works.

I think I’m coming close to having an empty well. I know I keep saying that, but that’s how it feels. On the other hand, it might just be I’m heading into a stretch where I write 100-200 words a day, instead of 1,000. I’m cool with that, so long as I keep going. That’s the thing that really matters, that I keep chipping away at this until it’s done.

Even if I do blow a whole free day.

Leave a Reply

