Revision = Delete

I spent some time last night and this afternoon struggling with the Dull Scene and at the end of my struggles, I’ve come to the conclusion that the scene really isn’t fixable, except by cutting it altogether. I have no idea what it’s supposed to do. Why is it there? I mean, I have plans for it, but do I really need to show what happens? Or is it better to tell most of it?

As writers we’re told to show, not tell, but sometimes the opposite is necessary. Sometimes it’s best to tell whatever needs to be told quickly and lightly. Sometimes showing it means writing a dull, tedious scene. I’m not sure that’s what happened here, but it feels like it.

Fortunately, there’s a way in Writer’s Café for me to save the scene, should I later decide that what I originally had mostly works.

Leave a Reply

