Star Trek

My sister G and I went to see the Star Trek reboot (which is an apt description) this afternoon. I watched the original series when it was still being aired — my vague recollection is that my mother joined the letter-writing campaign to save it. (That, or she said she did…and if that’s the case, who knows?) And of course I watched the reruns ad infinitum.

So I went to the movie with a huge reservoir of affection, one that could easily have been drained, leaving me deeply disappointed, and, maybe, with my memory of the series sullied.

Like everyone else I know, I came out of the movie theater happy. One of the things I loved about the movie is that it recognized and honored what I love about the original series: the relationships between the characters. The movie shows the development of those relationships, and that’s, I think, what I loved most about the movie. To some degree, the plot is simply the engine that makes that happen.

I’m thinking about that in relation to my own story.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Virginia Kantra
    May 25, 2009 @ 21:28:58

    When I switched from RS to fantasy–okay, paranormal romance–everyone but me thought of it as a huge change. But it wasn’t. The suspense had always been primarily a means to force character growth and a way to develp/explore the characters’ relationships. The magic is the same.

    Also (OT) thank you so much for your post below. Your good opinion means a lot. I’m also happy to say that I’m writing another CoS novella now, another historical, developing the finfolk. And I’ve started work on Morgan’s book, which should be out next fall. I love this world, and I don’t want to leave it.

    Reply

  2. Barb Wallace
    May 26, 2009 @ 12:26:00

    I’m slowly learning that in writing any kind of romance, the plot is definitely secondary to the relationship. If it doesn’t serve to further develop the characters’ relationship, it’s probably superfluous. In fact, when it comes to writing category romance, plot is probably the least important part of the book.

    If you think about the old Star Trek, the plot often existed to illustrate a moral or lesson. A lot of times the stories were actually pretty cheesy, but the characters made us love them anyway.

    A modern example of plot taking a back seat would be Monk or Psych. No one who watches that show does so for the mystery.

    Reply

  3. katycooper
    May 26, 2009 @ 19:08:13

    Virginia–You’re more than welcome for the kind words about Sea Lord–I loved the book. And Yay! on more CoS!

    Barbara–Your comment reminds me of Ron Moore and writing the end of Battlestar Galactica: He struggled and struggled…and then one night in the shower he had an epiphany that he ended up writing on the whiteboard in the writers’ room: “It’s the characters, stupid.” Lately, I’ve realized that’s what my story is all about: my characters.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

