Another Good Day

Today was a good writing day, even though I didn’t actually produce anything (yet, anyway). Mainly, I was able to see that a particular passage is just…useless. It kind of spins its wheels, not advancing the story in any meaningful way. So I cut it out.

Being able to recognize the emptiness of the passage is part of writing.  Being willing to act on it, killing my darlings, is what makes today another good day.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jenniferneri
    Jun 13, 2009 @ 14:24:17

    I find it so hard to cut – I get so attached to my words – terrible, isn’t it? Ok, if it’s horrible, it has to go, but it’s the good stuff that for whatever just isn’t working – oh, I find it so tough…

    Reply

  2. katycooper
    Jun 13, 2009 @ 19:10:05

    I have tied myself in knots, gotten totally hung up for days on a single passage because I get so bound and determined to save something or other.

    And then I come to my senses…

    Fortunately, this time, there was nothing in the section I cut out that I got so attached to. So that made it easier, sort of.

    Now it’s just a matter of figuring out what goes in, instead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

