Bleary Vision

Do I hate being sick because it happens so rarely? Or would I hate it more because it happened all the time?

I’m not entirely sure what’s going on here, but I’m tired, so tired I napped today for four hours. Happily, I’m feeling well enough to be frustrated that I don’t have the energy or focus to write. A rewrite of a scene is forming in my mind and I really want to get started on it, but my little noodle is too scattered for it. Hopefully, after a good night’s sleep, I’ll feel better and I’ll be able to get back to scribbling.

~*~*~*~*~*~

While returning from DC, I read Meredith Duran’s new book, Bound By Your Touch. It’s fabulous: well-written and emotionally intelligent, one of the best books I’ve read so far this year. I also think that if you define literary fiction the way Nathan Bransford does, it could be considered literary fiction.

I am very much looking forward to her July 28 release, Written On Your Skin. (And can I say how jazzed I am that I only have to wait a week?)

~*~*~*~*~*~

Sometimes when I go to National, the conference seems to have a single message for me. Everything significant that happens is about that message. It doesn’t (and didn’t) feel as if there were a lot of significant events to me, but I still think this conference had a message for me: “You’re a fabulous writer. Trust that and trust your instincts.” The part about being a fabulous writer is something that people — other writers I admire, in fact — out-and-out said. If that’s not a message from the universe, I don’t know what is.

So that’s my mantra for the next year.

Leave a Reply

