Bizarre Reading Funk

I’m in some sort of bizarre reading funk, in that I’m starting things and not finishing them. I started Frances Osborne’s The Bolter, and was done with it by page 80; I’m reading, in a very desultory way, Susan Holloway Scott’s Royal Harlot, which is good, just not what I want right now, and Anna Godbersen’s The Luxe, which might not be my cuppa. With the Holloway Scott, I’m getting a feeling of ‘not now’ that I’m not getting with the Godberson.

I’m also reading Grant and Lee: Victorious American and Vanquished Virginian by Edward Bonekemper. What I’m liking about this book is that it assumes that you have enough knowledge of the American Civil War not to need in-depth explanations of the battles he’s describing, so he can move right to analysis supporting his central argument (which is that Grant was the greater general of the two men, and that Lee made serious mistakes that led to the fall of the Confederacy — and so far, I’m buying it…)

And then, tonight on the bus, I started The Deceivers: Allied Military Deception in the Second World War by Thaddeus Holt, an 800+ page tome that’s what it’s billed to be. 

Finally, I’m also dipping into The Patriot Witch by C.C. Finlay, a fantasy set during the American Revolution that opens shortly before matters reach open conflict.

None of it is grabbing me, but the problem is me, not the books.

Leave a Reply

