Bits and Pieces

I finished Grant and Lee: Victorious American and Vanquished Virginian last night. He quoted John Keegan’s The Mask of Command about Grant, which intrigued me…all the more because I have The Mask of Command on my shelves. So of course I dragged it out and started reading Keegan’s take on Grant, which is that Grant was ‘the greatest general of the Civil War.’ I’m a big Keegan fan, so…

~*~*~*~*~*~

I’m 3/4 of the way through C.C. Finlay’s Patriot Witch. This is why the library can be a writer’s friend, the thing that tempers my guilt: Now I’m going to go buy Patriot Witch and the other two books in the series, A Spell For the Revolution and The Demon Redcoat. Oh, and Ice Song, by Kirten Imani Kasai.

~*~*~*~*~*~

I also started Virginia Nicholson’s Singled Out: How Two Million British Women Survived Without Men After the First World War. Last August, I read her Among the Bohemians and enjoyed it very much.

~*~*~*~*~*~

Apparently, this is how you soothe the reading itchies, get yourself out of your reading funk: You start reading bits and pieces of this’n’that.

Who knew?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharyn
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 10:53:24

    Ooohhh, I have PATRIOT WITCH on my Kindle (think I got it for free at some point), but haven’t read it yet. Will bump it to the top of the TBR pile. Thanks, Katy!

    Reply

  2. Karen H
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 18:37:28

    Thanks for the solution to reading funk, Katy. I’ve been very restless about my reading for a long time, switching from one to another, feeling discontented, even though I know the books are good. But, maybe that’s what I should do, read a bit from this, a bit from that, and not feel guilty about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

