Surprises

One of the things I love about writing is how it surprises me. Things happen that I don’t expect and didn’t plan, things that turn out to make the story stronger.

The latest surprise is the similes I find myself using when I’m in Ilsabet’s POV. She’s thought someone’s face is ‘as empty as a jar’ and that her thoughts ‘scattered like mice.’ Those similes surprise me because they’re not ones I would normally use, yet I’m leaving them in because they’re telling me something about Ilsabet. I’m not sure what that is, but I’m willing to roll with it until I figure it out.

Leave a Reply

