Auntie Ranty

I was reading Laurie Graham’s blog the other day and was struck by how strong her opinions are, or at least how strongly she states them. I sometimes think I’m dull as dishwater because I don’t get ranty in public very often (and when I do, it’s in real life, not online, where what you did really does live forever). But even as I think that, and wonder if I should be more opinionated online, I realize it’s not who I am. I get ranty when I’m annoyed and ranty-ness releases the annoyance. As soon as I’m done barking about something, I’m usually over it, and I don’t want to revisit it. So, no online barking for me.

~*~*~*~*~*~

I like watching my mind do strange stuff, stuff that reminds me that it’s a wild world up here between my ears. The latest piece of entertainment is watching as Chris Martin of Coldplay gets hopelessly entangled and confused with the actor Laurence Fox, who plays Sgt. Hathaway in the Inspector Lewis mysteries on PBS. Both are lanky blond Englishmen; Martin used to have very short hair, and Fox has very short hair as Hathaway. So there’s a vague sort of physical resemblance.

But I don’t think that’s why they’re getting mixed up in my mind. I think it’s because I’m currently listening to Coldplay on the bus, and watching Masterpiece Mystery on the weekend. They’re both vividly in my mind, feeding my imagination in deep ways, and on some level they seem the same to me. Maybe it’s that the Girls want to borrow something of Hathaway as a template for one of my characters, and they’re soaking up Viva.

In the end, who knows why it’s happening? I’m just amused that it’s going on.

~*~*~*~*~*~

Years ago, Amazon used to send out bookmarks with a quote from Erasmus, the one in which he confesses that when he has money he buys books, and if there’s anything left he buys food and clothes. I bought a book yesterday, a book today and plan on buying a book tomorrow. I’m also trying to lose a little weight*, so I’m not eating quite as much as I’ve been in the habit of eating. Somehow, I think I’m buying books instead of over-eating, and that makes me think of Erasmus. (I bought Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman yesterday; The Laurentine Spy by Emily Gee today; and I’m planning on buying Street Magic by Caitlin Kittredge tomorrow.)

* When my “big” pants got a little snugger than I like and my “small” pants almost didn’t button, I snapped. At some point when one’s weight is creeping up, one has to say “Enough,” and take action. I’ve reached that point.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen H
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 17:21:13

    This is because you are a nice person, Katy. Me, I can rant online with the best of them. Actually…I would prefer not, but when I see people hurt each other, that’s when I get ranty.

    Reply

    • katycooper
      Sep 22, 2009 @ 18:33:34

      I wouldn’t be at all surprised to find out I don’t get ranty online because I’m so conflict averse… I think you’re a nice person, with the added benefit of calling it as you see it…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

